One of the most often quoted and most encouraging passages from the letter of more-than-conquerors-260x195Paul to the Roman Christians is Romans 8:37 –>

“No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.”

What a verse, eh?  I had a thought a few weeks back about this passage. I’ll admit, it was during one of those dark times. Those very hard moments, when temptation and sin abound, when disappointment and disillusionment had crept in and taken hold.  When feeling reigned over fact.  Spiritually, I was in the dumps.  Here was my thought,

“More than conquerors?  Yeah right…more like ‘more than conquered!'”

This was how I felt at the time.  I’m sad to say that I’ll probably feel like this real soon again too.  It’s, I believe, the natural ebb and flow of our Spirituality.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying we should go from utter despondency to exhilarating joy every day.  But this thing called discipleship is a battle. It’s described in terms of an athletes competition, a war, a fight, a stand.  So some days we lose a bit of ground, some days we gain.  It’s somewhat normal to go back and forth.

The great encouragement to me is that “More than conquered” is true too!

I am conquered in Christ. Every enemy I have: My flesh, the world and the Devil, are all defeated, shackled and bowing at the feet of my King Jesus.  He has conquered my heart, crushed the head of the accuser and subdued the world.

And it is because of this conquering that that He has done that I am, in Him, more than a conqueror.  Praise God for His amazing and unchanging work for me, and in my place.

