Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday, I had the privilege of hearing and seeing Mr. Jerry Bridges speak at Bethesda Baptist in Allen Park, MI.  BBC was gracious to give everyone a free copy of Bridges’ new book Who Am I?  Jerry taught from the material in his book and took us all around the Bible to unpack three truths about who we are in Christ –

  1. I am a new creation
  2. I am a saint
  3. I am a servant

Jerry Bridges is not a Pastor.  He’s not a seminary professor.  He’s a former Naval officer who has worked for the Navigators ministry for countless years and has authored about 20 books or so.  He speaks as a godly and faithful man, out of deep and oftentimes dark experiences.  He is a man after God’s own heart, full of wisdom, encouragement and instruction.  It was an absolute blessing to sit at his feet and receive God’s grace out of the overflow from Jerry’s life.

During the Q&A time, one of the questions someone asked was, “If you’re house was on fire, what two books would you make sure to grab before you escaped. His answer revealed two books I’d never even heard of before:

  • The Doctrine of the Atonement According to the Apostles by George Smeaton
  • Communion With the Triune God by John Owen

I was blessed by this man’s ministry and more so by God’s faithfulness to him for these many years.  If you have the opportunity to go meet Jerry, I would highly recommend doing so.

 

