Tags

, ,

What a great primer on Systematic Theology!

I finally finished Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris.  Pastor Harris is the author who is probably best known in evangelical circles as the guy who wrote I Kissed Dating Goodbye.  But Josh is so much more than just that first book.  He has written on courtship and marriage, purity issues and the importance of a vibrant connection to a local church as well.

Dug Down Deep was one of those books that once I finally read it, I regretted having let it sit on my shelves for almost two years.  It is an excellent resource and one I would especially recommend to those who have never read any systematic theology like Wayne Grudem’s Introduction to Biblical Doctrine.  Josh intersperses stories and illustrations throughout this book to help bring out both the importance of knowing God through the systematic study of doctrine as well as the application of these truths to every day life.

I especially enjoyed the last chapter where Harris asks and answers the question, ‘What should studying truth do to us?”  This section alone should be read by every young man entering Bible college or seminary as it addresses the struggle between being passionate about the new truths you are learning and being compassionate with others that may disagree or be a bit behind you on their journey.

I found myself laughing at times, wanting to cry sometimes but mostly wanting to shout these things from the rooftop as I read through this book.  I will definitely be giving a copy to our youth pastor and recommending he consider using it to teach the young adults in our church.  Pick up a copy of this book and make your way through it. You will not be disappointed.

*I was provided a free copy of this book by LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers program in exchange for an unbiased free review.  Provided by LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers Program.

