Tags

, , ,

I love the book of Proverbs.  An absolute treasure-trove of rich wisdom that comes down from heaven.  But, I have to be honest and say that sometimes I read one of these Proverbs and I’m completely lost as to its meaning.  This is normal, I know.  But I figured I couldn’t be the only one and perhaps it would benefit those who also peruse, read and study the Proverbs periodically, to throw one of these out on the blog each week and offer a sound interpretation of it.

Therefore, I give you: “Weird Proverb of the Week # 1”

Proverbs 26:2

“Like a fluttering sparrow or a darting swallow, an undeserved curse does not come to rest.”

OK, what in the world is going on here?  I’m game with the bird imagery (or could these be called “Bird-Pictures”?), I kinda’ get the “undeserved curse” part, but I mentally bail out when it say it “does not come to rest.”

Here’s the deal – sometimes people pronounce undeserved curses upon us.  These have no foundation, no basis in reality.  They, like fluttering sparrows and darting swallows will not come to rest upon us.  We need not worry, when someone rashly attacks us with accusation and slander.  If these things are undeserved, they have no power to hurt or harm us.  Like birds that seem irrational in their flight patterns and unpredictable in their landings, are flippantly spoken words of cursing from the mouths of fools.

So take heart today and seek His Kingdom and His righteousness.  Do not fear the accusations, rumors and assaults of men.  Live in light of and according to God’s Word and the curses of others will not rest upon you.

