Tags

, , , ,

In light of the recent media coverage around Pat Tillman’s death, I returned to my bookshelf and pulled this volume out to give it a read. It was written very soon after Tillman’s death so it gives a very brief, albeit good, history and account of the situation at the time of it’s publication.

If Jonathan Rand is to be believed, Tillman was a pretty amazing guy. Not a guy typically to be found swimming with the current of popular trends. I was certainly impressed by his seeming lack of desire for more money, fame and fortune and what looked to be a passion for true purpose in life. I will give this little book to my sons and encourage them to read it. Not as a Christian book, per se, but as an example of of a man who took the higher road. A man who was constantly looking to the greater good, the road less traveled. I know it sounds corny, but don’t we need more young men who don’t simply and blindly accept the status quo and take it for granted that their purpose in life is to eat, drink and be merry?! We do.

I recommend this book as a primer on Tillman. I would love to hear more about his upbringing, his family life, his relationships with his brothers.

As a side note: I really enjoyed the chapter in this book that detailed all the other professional athletes that served their country in time of war. That was amazing to me (Ted Williams served in BOTH WWII and Korea!).

Here’s looking forward to a larger book in the near future detailing more of the story around Tillman, his life and his death.

