Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m having one of those mornings where I woke up with my mind racing.  But in a good way.  Racing with thoughts of thanksgiving.  Have you ever had one of those mornings?  Where you think about how fortunate you are to have things like warm running water to take a shower each and every day. How many people don’t have things like:

  • a beautiful wife to wake up next to, a bed, a furnace, clean carpeted or tiled floors, personal hygiene products
  • electric lighting, closets fulls of practically brand new clothing
  • cupboards full of breakfast food, a vehicle, paved roads, stop signs, a highway system
  • Beautiful little children who scare you half to death by creeping into the kitchen, sneezing and then allowing you to help them blow their nose and tuck them back into their bed
  • a job, Tim Horton’s coffee and bagels, friends, co-workers
  • a dry, safe, clean, well-lit, air-conditioned, forced air heated, carpeted workplace
  • a computer, a desk, customers, employers, ice, a chair
  • a cushioned mat to stand on at my desk.

I couldn’t stop!  When I sat down to eat, I cracked open my still new ESV Study Bible and looked up “thanks, thanksgiving, thankfulness”.  Before I could even pick one verse to look up, the words of Psalm 40 came to my mind –

“Many Oh Lord my God are the wonders you have done.  The things you planned for us no one can recount to you.  Were I to speak and tell of them they would be too many to declare.” (NIV)

Many!

No one can recount!

Too many!

I’m overwhelmed with thanksgiving.  I deserve none of these things.  Entitled?  Rights?  Yeah, I’m entitled to one thing: just punishment for my many sins against a holy God.  I have the right to claim but only the fires of eternal hell.  Because a loving God should send me there…but…he didn’t…because of what this passage declares about who he is and what he has done –

There is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus. God presented him as a sacrifice of atonement, through faith in his blood. He did this to demonstrate his justice, because in his forbearance he had left the sins committed beforehand unpunished— he did it to demonstrate his justice at the present time, so as to be just and the one who justifies those who have faith in Jesus. – Romans 3:22b-26

Thank you Lord, for your overwhelming kindness, grace and mercy today – and every day!

-paul

